Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (2)

Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge is where Tara @ 25 Hour Books and Amanda @ On a Book Bender recap and share blog events from the week, and talk about what they’re reading. Now they’re letting the rest of us join in the fun! Head over to Amanda’s blog if you’d like to participate and link up.

WEEKLY RECAP
ANNOUNCEMENTS AND UPDATES
  • Yesterday was the annual national event Free Comic Book Day. I dragged my husband to my local comic book store to pick up free books, and tried out a new store as well. I even got a book signed by the author, which was fun.
  • I sat through almost 8 hours of theater this weekend (The Iceman Cometh and CATS), plus saw The Avengers. I’m exhausted about watching stuff and paying attention.
  • I’m nearing the end of my migration to WordPress, thanks to Cialina at Paper Wings Design Studio.
  • Look for my Spring Blog Carnival game and giveaway tomorrow!
  • I continue to slog through two different manuscripts and waste many, many hours getting myself familiar with WP.org.
AROUND THE BLOGOSPHERE
ODD SEARCH TERMS
  • design for game of thrones – not much help here, I’m afraid
  • fire stoning – Don’t mess with me!
BOOKS RECEIVED

Bought:

Cindy at Princess Bookie clears her personal bookshelves every so often, and puts the books up for sale. She posts a list and asks people to choose what they want and you name your own price. I rarely can resist her sales because she always has books I want. So I picked up 7 books on the cheap!

Rampant and Ascendant by Diana Peterfreund
(Vicious unicorns for the win!) 

Rivals (The Ivy #3) by Lauren Kunze and Rina Onur
The Ghost and the Goth by Stacey Kade

I own the first two books in the Ivy series (not that I’ve read them yet), so I wanted to complete my set. The Ghost and the Goth was highly reviewed by Small Review, and I trust her opinion.

Funny aside – My husband saw The Ghost and the Goth cover and immediately began making fun of me. Him: “You know, that cover makes it really hard for me to tell what the book is about. I think it must be something dark and serious. What’s it about anyway?”  Me: “It’s a really complicated metaphor. You wouldn’t understand.”

A Breath of Eyre by Eve Marie Mont
The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen 

Havoc by Jeff Sampson

For review:

  • Ashen Winter by Mike Mullin – Thank you NetGalley and Tanglewood!
  • Shadowfell by Juliet Marillier – Thank you NetGalley and Random House!
  • Dark Companion by Marta Acosta – Thank you NetGalley and Tor Teen!

That’s it for now. Have a great week!

11 thoughts on “Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (2)

  1. I’ve been on WP.org for four months now, and I’m still getting used to everything and figuring things out. It’s a work in progress, I think.

    As an aside, did you get any learning in about CSS? I was resdesigning my business website and learned A TON, though not enough to create my own. Just enough to tweak the existing CSS. And every time I did, I’d go on this little power trips because I could change ALL THE THINGS! It was awesome.

    • I’m like you – I know enough that I can recognize how to make changes, but I couldn’t build from the ground up. The hardest part for me is making it stick. I’m so used to HTML that sometimes I have to stop and go “Wait. This is colons and hyphens, not equals and quotes.”

      I was not liking the default font on my blog, so I went into the theme and changed it back to Philosopher (which I had used on Blogger), and I had to upload a web font and change all the portions of the CSS that mentioned fonts and I did ALL THE THINGS by myself!

      • On my business site, I change the hyperlink font so it’s different from the normal font, and I am seriously SO IN LOVE with it that sometimes I just visit my site to stare at all the beauty.

        That’s not weird, is it?

        (I do it with my book blog, too)

      • That is such a cool idea! My mom is having a hard time with the color scheme so I’ll be doing more playing, and it’s nice to know I can do that without needing to bother Cialina.

        My new favorite thing about WP is the phone app. I can do everything without fumbling through the browser!

  2. I totally need Diana’s first series! I want to get a taste of her writing, especially since it DOES have killer unicorns! And The False Prince! There’s a book fair at my school and the paperback is only $7. Totally going to pick it up! I loved The Ghost and the Goth too and I read it completely because of Small and she was so right!

    I’m really happy to hear that you loved Grave Mercy. Such an awesome book. DUVALLLLL! 😀

    • I’m so excited to try her new book coming out this year. Asher, I think you would LOVE the Killer Unicorns series. And I also wanted The False Prince because of Small. We should make her pick all of our books for us. 🙂

  3. Great stash of books! The False Prince looks really interesting and I’m eyeing Shadowfell myself, but I’ve never read Marillier befre and don’t know what to expect. Enjoy!

  4. Dallas Comic Con is coming! I picked up a free comic of a person that is coming. I can’t wait to get it signed —though right now I am blanking on who it is!

    I am jumping on the learning CSS thing and while at times it is intimidating–I am finding it oddly fun 🙂 I say that until I blow up something huge LOL

Leave a Reply

