Bout of Books 5.0 – Goals and Updates

Bout of Books Read-a-Thon

 
Bout of Books 5.0 is here! I’ll be participating here and on Twitter (@loganturner). For those not in-the-know, here is the official Bout of Books blurb:
 

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 13th and runs through Sunday, August 19th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 5.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. -From the Bout of Books 5.0 team

 
Time devoted to reading: I’m going to try and read 3 hours every weekday and 6 hours each weekend day.
 
My goals for participation:
  • Read seven books
  • Finish four of my library books
  • Knock out two Austen books
  • Read ten books from my backlog of comics
  • Update Twitter at least three times per day
  • Participate in one Twitter chat and three challenges (view the Official Schedule)

Books to read:

  • Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – in progress
  • Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
  • The Yard by Alex Grecian – in progress
  • Agent 6 by Tom Rob Smith
  • The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin
  • Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo
  • Some Girls Bite by Chloe Neill (or another UF/PNR fun book)

Updates:

8/13
Number of pages Iâ??ve read today: 145
Total number of pages Iâ??ve read: 145
Books read: Finished Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns); started The Yard

8/14
Number of pages Iâ??ve read today: 117
Total number of pages Iâ??ve read: 262
Books read: Still reading The Yard; started Northanger Abbey

8/15
Number of pages Iâ??ve read today: 144
Total number of pages Iâ??ve read: 406
Books read: Finished Northanger Abbey; still reading The Yard
Challenges completed: 2

8/16
Number of pages Iâ??ve read today: 94
Total number of pages Iâ??ve read: 500
Books read: Started The Westing Game; still reading The Yard

8/17
Number of pages Iâ??ve read today: 94
Total number of pages Iâ??ve read: 594
Books read: Finished The Westing Game; started Pride and Prejudice

8/18
Number of pages Iâ??ve read today: 54
Total number of pages Iâ??ve read: 648
Books read: Still reading The Yard and Pride and Prejudice
Challenges completed: 1

8/19
Number of pages I’ve read today: 102
Total number of pages I’ve read: 750
Books read: Still reading The Yard and Pride and Prejudice

18 thoughts on “Bout of Books 5.0 – Goals and Updates

  1. That is a very good list. I really like Pride and Prejudice 🙂 I want to read The Yard so it would be interesting to see what you think of it. Have a great week and enjoy your books 🙂

  2. I enjoyed participating in this challenge last year. I think I learned about it from your blog. I’m not sure I’ll have time for it this year, but I’m going to at least consider it since you brought it up.

  3. Hey i’m doing this read a thon too :).
    That’s a great list of books ! Northanger Abbey is my favorite Jane Austen book !
    And I heard good things about Shadow and Bone I really need to buy a copy !
    Good luck and have fun !

  4. I tried reading a Tom Rob Smith book but I couldn’t get into it, but I may have to give him another chance soon! Good luck and happy reading!

    • I’ve read both of his other books an loved them so hopefully this one will be awesome too. I can see how they wouldn’t be everyone’s cup of tea, though.

  5. Eeep!! I am so excited for you! Northanger Abbey AND Shadow & Bone!!!! *happy dance* I hope you love them 🙂 Just remember to place your tongue firmly in your cheek when you read Northanger Abbey. 😉

Leave a Reply

