Bout of Books 5.0 – Wrap Up

Bout of Books Read-a-Thon

 
I survived Bout of Books 5.0! It was a great week of reading for me and I’m so glad I decided to participate. For those not in-the-know, here is the official Bout of Books blurb:
 

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 13th and runs through Sunday, August 19th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 5.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. -From the Bout of Books 5.0 team

 
Time devoted to reading: I managed to meet my goal of reading 3 hours each weekday, but fell far short of my planned 6 hours on Saturday and Sunday. It was a lot harder to avoid errands than I thought it would be!
 
I managed to:
  • Read 3 books (and get halfway through another and a good start on a fifth)
  • Finish 3 library books
  • Finish one Austen book (and start another)
  • Update Twitter every day
  • Participate in 2 Twitter chats and 3 challenges

Books I read:

  • Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling
  • The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin
  • Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
  • The Yard by Alex Grecian – not finished
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – not finished

Total pages read: 750

Challenges completed: 

This was probably my most successful Bout of Books, if only because it got me back in the reading groove and connecting with bloggers again. I had a lot of fun, read way more this week than in any previous week this year, and am just happy to be enjoying my reading life. Thank you Amanda and Kelly and all the challenge hosts for a great Bout of Books 5.0!

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Bout of Books 5.0 – Wrap Up

  1. I really liked The Yard–it was so different! You did awesome! I can’t do classics during a read-a-thon they are such comfort reads to me that I tend to read parts, put them down, read parts LOL

  2. You did great Logan! Maybe we need to get ‘I Survived Bout-of-Books’ shirts printed. LOL! I’ll have to throw that suggestion at Amanda and Kelly for Bout-of-Books 10.0. Not this week though 😉 Hope to see you in January!

Leave a Reply

