Bout of Books 6.0 – Goals and Updates

Bout of Books Read-a-Thon

 
Bout of Books 6.0 is here! I’ll be participating here and on Twitter (@loganturner). For those not in-the-know, here is the official Bout of Books blurb:
 

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 7th and runs through Sunday, January 13th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 6.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog.

-From the Bout of Books 6.0 team

 
Time devoted to reading: This is a busy week for me, so I’m going to try and read 1 hour every weekday and 3 hours each weekend day.
 
My goals for participation:
  • Read three books
  • Write a review for at least one of the books I read this week
  • Read one graphic novel
  • Update Twitter at least three times per day
  • Participate in a few challenges (view the Official Schedule)

Books to read (subject to change):

  • Over Sea, Under Stone by Susan Cooper
  • The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper
  • Greenwitch by Susan Cooper
  • Kill Shakespeare, Vol. 1 by Conor McCreery
  • Bared to You by Sylvia Day
  • The Athena Project by Brad Thor (added to list 1/12)

Updates:

1/7
Number of pages Iâ??ve read today: 248
Total number of pages Iâ??ve read: 248
Books read: Bared to You and Over Sea, Under Stone
Today’s tweet: Middle grade books are an excellent choice for readathons. I feel blazing fast!

1/8
Number of pages Iâ??ve read today: 202
Total number of pages Iâ??ve read: 450
Books read: Bared to You (finished!) and Over Sea, Under Stone
Today’s tweet: The problem with ebook series sets is that I never have any idea how far I am through individual books.

1/9
Number of pages Iâ??ve read today: 77
Total number of pages Iâ??ve read: 527
Books read: Over Sea, Under Stone (finished!) and The Dark is Rising
Today’s tweet: @soulswallo Literally every time you pull out the finger guns, I laugh out loud.

1/10
Number of pages Iâ??ve read today: 116
Total number of pages Iâ??ve read: 643
Books read: The Dark is Rising
Today’s tweet: It’s bad when no matter the time of day, your book puts you to sleep.

1/11
Number of pages Iâ??ve read today: 117
Total number of pages Iâ??ve read: 760
Books read: The Dark is Rising (finished!) and Greenwitch
Today’s tweet: Treated to donuts at work this AM. So now all I have to do during lunch is read! Hoping to finish book 3.

1/12
Number of pages Iâ??ve read today: 272
Total number of pages Iâ??ve read: 1,032
Books read: Greenwitch (finished!), Kill Shakespeare (finished!) and The Athena Project
Today’s tweet: Thank you SO MUCH guys! This event never fails to inspire me.

Challenges:

Name Your Book Crack, hosted by Bookgoonie

The thing that drives my book addiction the hardest is a new release in a series. I feel compelled to preorder them, even if I’m woefully behind on my reading in that series. I feel like I have to keep up, and I Just. Have. To. Buy. the newest book so that I can say I have it. Somehow, in my mind, owning the most up to date book means I’m a true fan. I like to acquire them right away, so that when I am ready to sit down and catch up, the whole set is right there in my possession.

What this usually means, however, is that I buy the book and then feel no urge to read it. I own it, so it can sit on my shelf forever, right? I bought it, so I don’t have to keep thinking of it in my TBR list in my head. Once I own it, I don’t have to track it, or so it goes in my backwards mind. This is why I have TONS of books on my shelves and in my Kindle that are unread, while I plow through books at the library. I have the addictive urge to own books, but not necessarily to read them right away. It’s like I’m worried I’ll forget about them if I don’t run out and buy them right away. It drives my husband crazy, and makes me feel like a weirdo when people ask me my thoughts on the books on my shelves and I have to say I haven’t read them! Hee. So yes, the need to have the newest and shiniest books is my book crack.

1/13
Number of pages I’ve read today: 221
Total number of pages I’ve read: 1,253
Books read: The Athena Project (finished!), Insurgent and Beautiful Creatures
Today’s tweet: Finished another one for #boutofbooks! Just in time to watch the Globes, too!

Challenges:

New Year’s Resolutions, hosted by Ex Libris

Since I just finished Bared to You, I’ll pick Eva from that book. Her resolutions would be to buy new underwear (since Gideon keeps ripping them off), get a promotion at work (since she loves her job), and to not run away from her problems and fears (as she is wont to do).

12 thoughts on “Bout of Books 6.0 – Goals and Updates

  1. I think this is the first time Bout of Books has been on a convenient week (I still do it though) and it can be hard when you’re busy. But I think it’s always good to make time for a little reading even if it’s just before you go to bed. Good luck!

  2. I have the same problem, re: buying books and then mentally taking them off my TBR. Like, No, Bahnree, you haven’t read that….WHY DO YOU KEEP BUYING BOOKS WHEN YOU HAVE PLENTY TO READ. It’s a problem. xD

  3. How every interesting that you buy books and don’t read them right away. I totally understand what you mean by doing it, but interesting. I always find that if I preorder a book and don’t read it right away (as a fan of the author), some magic is lost.

Leave a Reply

