Library Explosion!

 
 
(Pay no attention to the shoddy iPhone photography.)
 
To prepare for my week-long staycation last week, I hit up the library. And…things got a little out of hand. This happens a lot when I anticipate lots of uninterrupted reading time, and I tend to use that as an excuse to pick up every book I’ve been drooling over at the library in one fell swoop. I did manage to get some goodies, though, so I thought it was worth a public shaming share:
 

The Passage by Justin Cronin
Lord John and the Private Matter by Diana Gabaldon

These are two books I’ve been meaning to read for a long time. I had hoped that during my break I could get through the ENORMOUS tome that is The Passage, so I wouldn’t have to lug it on the train, but I haven’t gotten to it yet. Seriously, though, that thing must weigh at least 5 pounds. Bulky calf master! 

Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys
Betrayed by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast

I had Beautiful Creatures on hold for months, and though I eventually caved and bought the ebook, I still picked up my library copy to ease the flip-throughs I’d need for answering questions while Reading à Deux with Ruby. (Have you seen our first post yet? Come join in the fun!) Between Shades of Gray is up for discussion in my book club this weekend, and Betrayed sounded like a fun, quick read for vacation (which it was). I enjoyed the first House of Night book, and this one proved to be equally entertaining. 

Personal Effects by E. M. Kokie
Cinder by Marissa Meyer
The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross

I attended a lecture on querying through my local SCBWI chapter where E. M. Kokie gave the presentation. It was phenomenal, and ever since I’ve been anxious to read her debut novel, Personal Effects. I saw it on the shelves and YOINK! I already finished Cinder since all anyone can do is rave about it, and in the very near future you’ll get to hear me rave about it too. So good! Finally, The Girl in the Steel Corset is a steampunk that I’ve been curious to read.

  

I also have these 4 books checked out in ebook form. (This is where I kick it up to a whole new level of crazy!)

Bad Taste in Boys by Carrie Harris
Insurgent by Veronica Roth 
Deadly Politics by Maggie Sefton
Hidden by Sophie Jordan

I’ve been wanting to read Deadly Politics ever since Felicia reviewed it, so I was really excited to get that one. I’m about 15% through Insurgent, but I think I’ll end up skimming to the end. I’m curious to see where the series goes, but it’s not really hooking me. I’m looking forward to jumping into Hidden, since I just finished the novella, Breathless, that takes place in the same world. MOAR DRAGON SHIFTERS PLEASE! (Side note: Can I please have the hair color of the shifter on the cover? kthxbai) And Bad Taste in Boys has been on my TBR for such a long time that I can’t wait to finally read it. Carrie Harris is hilarious, and I don’t think it will disappoint.

So tell me, am I the only one that gets a little carried away at the library?  😆

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Library Explosion!

  1. Holy heck! You did clean out the Library though Cinder is AMAZING! You will not regret that one 🙂

    Deadly Politics! I can’t wait to see what you think. I swear the book made me want to move to the town. I think it is a solid beginning to a series.

    Insurgent I liked better than Divergent BUT I think overall the series is one of those that will live or die by the next book. It is kind of one of those where are you going things….(at least for me)

    • Yeah, I keep reading the series just because I want to know the outcome. Maybe I’ll stop reading and hunt down a spoiler filled recap somewhere. 🙂

  2. AHH! Girl in a Steel Corset has been on my TBR pile forever, too! Why do you want to read all the same books as me? Is it because you love me and want to be me?

Leave a Reply

