Bloggiesta – March 2013

It’s time for the spring Bloggiesta! Founded by Maw Books Blog, Bloggiestas are scheduled weekends where you catch up on long-ignored blog tasks. Now it’s being run by It’s All About Books and There’s a Book.

Bloggiesta is running this weekend, March 22-24. There will be 7 mini-challenges, focused on some exciting ways to get our blogging butts in gear. You can check in and offer advice for other bloggers and join discussions on Twitter during three scheduled chats. (Be sure to follow @Bloggiesta, and come find me @loganturner!)

If you’d like to join up, click on the button for more information.

Here’s my to-do list:

  • Participate in at least 3 mini-challenges
  • Join at least one Twitter chat
  • Write 6-8 reviews and schedule posts
  • Check style sheets and update or create heading tags
  • Backup blog
  • Delete duplicate images from media library Knocked out a bunch, will need to revisit
  • Save bloglovin footer button to draft templates
  • Update widgets
  • Write 2 Writing Wednesday posts
  • Buy and read Language Management’s Blog Smarter toolkit
  • Schedule meme posts through April
  • Create blog organization notebook
  • Update review links on pages
  • Update cheat sheet
  • Change password
  • Clean up categories and/or create links page
20 thoughts on “Bloggiesta – March 2013

    • I thought you might like that. Heh.

      I don’t know if I’ll be home for the one tonight, but I’m planning to do Saturday morning for sure and maybe Sunday too.

  1. Logan there are a few things that I don’t quite understand on your goals list, whereabouts is your media library? Is that in your blog or on your computer? What’s the bloglovin footer button to draft templates?

    I’ve clicked on the Language Management’s Blog Smarter Toolkit.

    My Bloggiesta

    Have a great Bloggigesta weekend!

    • Hi Angelica! I’ll be cleaning out my media library in WordPress. When I upload images for posts it tends to duplicate them. Not sure why, but periodically I go through and get rid of the dupes so they don’t take up so much memory.

      Bloglovin has a button/widget on their site that you can put at the bottom of posts to remind people to follow you there, so I want to grab that and save it to my post templates so I remember to use it. 🙂

      I bought my copy of Blog Smarter, but haven’t gone through it yet. That’s a task for later today. Hope your Bloggiesta is going well so far!

    • I just download a backup file from my cPanel. Not that I have any idea how to install it again if anything did happen, mind you, but I feel better knowing I at least have it saved somewhere so I can ask someone smarter than me to help load it if need be. 🙂

  2. Good luck with your Bloggiesta goals, looks like you’re working on a lot this weekend. I love how you have your upcoming posts in your sidebars. Wish I was far enough ahead to be able to do that, I’m usually writing to publish posts immediately, I can’t seem to get ahead. I’ve added your blog to my Bloglovin reader.

    Here’s my Bloggiesta list and updates if you’d like to stop by http://momssmallvictories.com/bloggiesta-2013-goals/

    Have a great rest of the weekend!

    • Oh my gosh, thank you for the feedback about the upcoming post widget. I wasn’t sure if anyone ever really looked at it. 🙂 But it keeps me organized and I like to think it helps people know what’s coming up and whether there’s anything they want to try and come back to check out in the future. It’s linked to my Google Calendar, so it updates whenever I make changes to that. I’m never tied down to what it says, but it’s a nice framework.

    • This is definitely not all going to get accomplished today. 🙂 But I like to have this list floating around so I can come back to it, either in the next few months or for the next Bloggiesta. Hope your list is getting whittled down!

Leave a Reply

