Return of the Weekly Recap

 
Way back, long ago, in the dark ages of this blog, I used to do a weekly recap as part of my TGIF or Follow Friday meme posts. When GReads! retired TGIF, I tried out a few other memes (like Clock Rewinders and It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?) to try and scratch the itch I had to share what I was reading, posting, and thinking about during the week.

During Bloggiesta, I spent some time working through some ideas for the kind of post I really wanted to write. Why was I trying to fit what I wanted to say into someone else’s mold? So starting today, every Friday I’m going to post a recap of books I’ve read, am reading, and plan to read, as well as any other tidbits I feel like sharing. The format was inspired by Small Review’s Recap posts and On a Book Bender and 25 Hour Books’ Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge posts.

Blogging

This week on the blog:

Reading

Finished: 

  • Graceling (Graceling Realm #1) by Kristin Cashore
    • Solid start, but lost me in the endless mountain climbing.
  • City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments #4) by Cassandra Clare 
    • Though I mocked myself for reading this silliness, I tore through it like it was a bag of cinnamon bears.

Started: 

  • Darkfever (Darkfever #1) by Karen Marie Moning 
    • Mac is the opposite type of character I expected from this type of series. Like a non-annoying Sookie Stackhouse.

Acquiring

Bought:

  • Etiquette & Espionage (Finishing School #1) by Gail Carriger 
  • Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer
  • Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer
    • I had an Amazon gift card burning a hole in my account, so I finally caved and bought 3 books from my wishlist. I initially read Cinder from the library, and definitely needed to own a copy, as well as the sequel.

Borrowed:

  • In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler’s Berlin by Erik Larson
    • Erik Larson truly impressed me with The Devil in the White City (which if you haven’t read, is a must, and is getting a movie version starring Leonardo DiCaprio) and I have been meaning to give this one a try.

Placed on hold:

  • Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy (Gallagher Girls #2) by Ally Carter
  • Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain
  • Live From New York: An Uncensored History of Saturday Night Live by Tom Shales and James Andrew Miller
  • The Twelve (The Passage #2) by Justin Cronin

Donated to Books for Africa: 

  • Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon
  • Blood Magic by Tessa Gratton
  • Graceling by Kristin Cashore
  • The Dark Glamour (666 Park Avenue #2) by Gabriella Pierce

Recycled:

  • 25 old ARCs and freebies that I will never read. It felt so good to get them out of the house!

Watching

  • Downton Abbey, Season 1
    • I realize I’m the last person alive who doesn’t watch this show religiously, but I finally got on board. LOVE. Except for O’Brien. HATE.
  • College basketball
    • I am typically anti-basketball (So many points! Only the last 3 minutes really count! Fouls are considered offensive strategy! It is a game that frustrates me.) but I am a sucker for bracketology and become very pro-basketball during March Madness. (My brackets suck.)
  • Awkward, On Demand
    • Season 3 premieres April 16th!
  • Game of Thrones and Doctor Who premieres this weekend
    • AAAUAUAUAUAAUUAAUGGGGHGGHHHHHHHHH *breath* *breath* AAAAUUUUAAUAUAUUGGHGGHHHHHHH!!!!

Listening

  • Justin Timberlake, The 20/20 Experience
    • Duh.

Exercising

  • With the Soldier Field 10 Mile race looming in 8 short weeks, I purchased the Hal Higdon 10 Mile plan through Training Peaks to hopefully help me get my training act together.

Time Wasting

6 thoughts on “Return of the Weekly Recap

  1. aaaah you are going to HATE O’Brien even more! She is a nasty piece of work but I LOVE her for her evilness sometimes. I’m so excited you’re watching Downton. You need to join a chat with me and Ruby! I’ll warn you, I’m totally in lockstep with Carson when it comes to Lady Mary.

    Thanks for the link 🙂

    • When O’Brien totally overreacted to the false belief that her job was in jeopardy I was soooo mad. I also like Mary, but I thought what she did to Edith was supremely nasty. The girls’ wedding prospect drama is so deliciously Austenian, though!

      I started Season 2 tonight. So many tears! And a new person to hate – Vera! Grrrrr.

      When I saw the Downton reference on your post I was like, okay, this is getting silly. Just watch it! 🙂 So glad I did.

      • I know, right? O’Brien’s response to that wasn’t even remotely the act of a person with a heart or soul. I can’t wait until you get to season three! oh my gosh, you just wait Vera is awful. Yay for liking Mary! I loved it when she skewered Edith. I did not like Edith at all, so even though Lady Mary was shockingly mean, I loved it. I love the Dowager, too. She is made of awesome and has some of the best lines on the show.

        Awww I’m so glad you were finally inspired to watch it!

      • Yes, the Dowager is one of my favorites! Every time she walks in I want to clap with glee because I just know she’s going to say something fun.

Leave a Reply

