Weekly Recap (2)

 
Every Friday I post a recap of books I’ve read, am reading, and plan to read, as well as any other tidbits I feel like sharing. The format was inspired by Small Review’s Recap posts and On a Book Bender and 25 Hour Books’ Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge posts.

Blogging

This week on the blog:

Reading

Finished: 

  • Darkfever (Darkfever #1) by Karen Marie Moning
    • This was an interesting world and I’m looking forward to the rest of the series, but I need to read something else first.
  • Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
    • My pick for book club this month. I can’t wait to discuss!

Started: 

  • In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler’s Berlin by Erik Larson
    • I love the way Larson writes non-fiction. His use of foreshadowing may not be for everyone, but I like knowing where the story is headed.
  • Clockwork Angel (Clockwork Angel #1) by Cassandra Clare
    • This is much darker than I thought it would be, and I really like it so far. Why did I wait so long to read these?

Acquiring

Bought:

  • The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald 
    • I can’t even explain how excited I am for the Baz Luhrmann movie next month. 

Watching

  • Downton Abbey, Seasons 2 and 3
    • It’s official. We’re addicted. We blasted through season 2 in two sessions, and are working our way through season 3 this week.
  • Game of Thrones, Season 3
    • Still the best show on television.

Listening

  • Bad Religion at Congress Theater
    • As advance repayment for making him go with me to the Justin Timberlake/Jay-Z concert this summer, my husband is taking me to a Bad Religion concert tonight.

Exercising

  • Registered for 2nd quarter of Masters Swim Team at my gym, and am trying out a new Pilates-inspired class called BOSU-Core Synergy.
  • Running is on hold since I got a nasty chest cold this week. Blerg.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Weekly Recap (2)

  1. I like your recap. If I miss something I can catch up all in one place. Thirteen Reasons Why was a fabulous read. I bet the book club will have lots to discuss. For me it was sad because I totally thought she could have been saved – totally disappointed in the counselor.

  2. I just recently read the first Faefever as well. I didn’t love it as much as I thought I would, but I was *commanded* to keep going with the series. I’m interested in reading your review. Did you read the other Cassie Clare books? That’s another series I never read.

    • I will say that I wasn’t thrilled that the whole book felt like setup for the series, but I still enjoyed it. I have read 4 of the Mortal Instruments series, but so far I MUCH prefer the Infernal Devices/Clockwork books.

Leave a Reply

