Weekly Recap (3)

 
Every Friday I post a recap of books I’ve read, am reading, and plan to read, as well as any other tidbits I feel like sharing. The format was inspired by Small Review’s Recap posts and On a Book Bender and 25 Hour Books’ Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge posts.

Blogging

This week on the blog:

  • FAIL. No posts this week. Feel free to shame me in the comments, but my excuse was another bout of illness. This spring is kicking my ass!

Reading

Finished: 

  • In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler’s Berlin by Erik Larson
    • Loved it. I learned a lot about the rise of Hitler that I hadn’t known, and the Dodd family was a fascinating bunch of characters.
  • Clockwork Angel (Clockwork Angel #1) by Cassandra Clare
    • I got so thoroughly sucked into this series. I had to start book 2 immediately.

Started: 

  • Clockwork Prince (Clockwork Angel #2) by Cassandra Clare
    • See above.
  • Live From New York: An Uncensored History of Saturday Night Live by Tom Shales and James Andrew Miller
    • I flew through the early years, but now that I’ve hit the mediocre ’80s I’m getting bored. This may be a DNF.
  • Spider’s Bite (Elemental Assassin #1) by Jennifer Estep
    • I have a weakness for assassin tales, and after 40 pages I’m already in love with this one.

Acquiring

Borrowed:

  • Live From New York: An Uncensored History of Saturday Night Live by Tom Shales and James Andrew Miller

Watching

  • The Following
    • We’re playing catch up on DVR’ed episodes. This show is so creepy and tense and scary in all the best ways. If you’re not watching it, you really should be.
  • Jurassic Park 3D IMAX
    • We paid the ridiculous $25 parking fee at Navy Pier to see this beloved favorite on the best IMAX screen in town. It’s astounding how well those dinosaurs stand the test of time, and I am so very glad I got to see it in the theater again!

Listening

  • Olly Murs, “Troublemaker”
    • My friend and I heard this on the radio and couldn’t decide whether it was Maroon 5 or not. Luckily it popped up again in the car and thanks to Sirius XM displays, we found out the real artist!

Exercising

  • I got in one measly run this week thanks to being sick again. I used the time off to plan out my racing season, though. Here are the races I’m aiming for this year:
    • 05/25/13 – Soldier Field 10 Mile (registered)
    • 06/23/13 – Bigfoot Triathlon, Olympic distance
    • 06/30/13 – Twin Lakes Triathlon, Sprint distance (registered)
    • 08/10/13 – Zooma Half Marathon
    • 08/25/13 – Chicago Triathlon, Sprint distance (registered)
    • 09/15/13 – TriRock Lake Geneva Triathlon, Olympic distance
    • 10/12/13 – Prairie State Half Marathon
    • 11/03/13 – Hot Chocolate 15K

What have you been up to this week?

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Weekly Recap (3)

    • The Following seriously gives me the heebie jeebies. I have a hard time watching it right before bed. I have to watch something fun in between or I get too scared. 🙂

  1. Navy Pier! I didn’t make it there this trip, but definitely next time.

    I’m really, really impressed by how many races you’re going to do! I hate running. It’s the gym for me or nothing.

    • I always tell people not to bother with Navy Pier. It is expensive and hard to get to, and there’s not a lot to do. If you’re going specifically to visit the Children’s Museum or the IMAX or Chicago Shakespeare theaters, that’s one thing, but don’t ever make a trip just to visit. Boring and a HUGE tourist trap. It’s full of nothing but kitschy stores selling junk.

      I love running, but only outside. Put me on a treadmill and I DIE of boredom. Which is why I haven’t run in 4 months – I would rather not run at all if it’s too cold to do it outside. So now I have to start from scratch with my training and it is…um…painful.

Leave a Reply

