Book Blogger Confessions: Blog Evolution

Book Blogger Confessions is a meme run by Midnyte Reader and For What It’s Worth. Every first and third Monday participants post and discuss common frustrations to book bloggers. Link up your post on either blog and hop around to listen to and learn from your fellow bloggers!

This week’s question is:

How long do you see yourself blogging? Do you think it’s okay for a blog to evolve over time? For example: You may have started out as a book review blog but now your interest is in cooking as well. Do you incorporate that or start over?

 I have had an online blog or journal in some format for 12 years. I’m not sure that this blog, in this format, will exist in decades to come, but I’d like to think that I’ll always have an online presence. 

I think a blog can evolve as long as the author is okay with a changing audience. This blog was created for readers, and mostly YA readers at that, so if I decide to start focusing more on running, say, or even on my writing, I have no doubt that my audience would change and likely grow smaller. And that doesn’t bother me. I want readers who connect with my content, pure and simple.

Where I get a little confused is whether a blog can have more than one focus. For now, I’m keeping my other interests confined to my weekly recaps. I’m afraid if I do book reviews, and a weekly post on writing, and a weekly post on running/training, and so on, that I’ll end up attracting no audience at all because there is no common theme. At that point it starts to feel like a journal/diary, and there are better (and more private) venues for that on the interwebs.

At the very least, I see this blog continuing on for a few more years. Let’s hope! 🙂

 

 

20 thoughts on “Book Blogger Confessions: Blog Evolution

  1. I have talked about my running and personal things on my blog but like you I seem to keep it confined to the weekends. And people seems o enjoy it. I actually get more comments and interaction on those posts.

    I think it depends on your blog design how far you can stray from the original intent for your blog.

    I purposely left mine vague so I could talk about anything but once it strayed to mainly book reviewing I find myself bound by that even though there isn’t any real good reason for feeling that way. lol

    12 years is a long time! I think our interests shift over time so it’s only natural that our blogs would too.

  2. I started off with a personal blog in 2006 but wow 12 years online? That is freaking amazing. My personal (or lifestyle as they call them now) blog kind of fell to the wayside though I have been prepping it for a return. I have always journaled though so I am with you on that. I will always be journaling whether online or on paper. I always feel the need to write things out LOL

    • I definitely haven’t been consistent over all 12 of those years, but it’s been there. I’ve never been a great paper journal writer – my hand gets tired too fast. I’m much more able to process my thoughts while typing.

  3. Wow, 12 years – that’s impressive. I wish you at least 12 more!
    I agree with the blog focus being crucial. Of course, this doesn’t mean one can’t stray a little on occasion, but identity is important IMHO.

  4. 12 years! Wow! I really liked your writing posts b/c I fancy myself an aspiring writer as well. I know what you mean though about posts being too far away from each other. I hope you stick around too! : )

  5. Wow~ 12 years! Congrats. I don’t have a problem with having different interests on a blog but I like how you have the week in review section for your other interests.

  6. I was thinking the same thing. It might be possible to find people who share one of your interests, but how many people love books AND matryoshka dolls or books AND gerbera daisies or books AND teaching or books AND cooking or books AND nail polish. Okay, maybe a few people.

  7. I think its tough to keep the SAME followers if you change up your blog. The people followed your blog for a reason and than usually has to do with content. If the content changes, then he/she may no longer be interested in reading. But the flip side of that is you will attract new readers who ARE interested in what the new focus is and so on and so forth, as the blog morphs and changes.

  8. I think if you see your blog as a personal reading blog, it’s fine to include other interests. Most people follow those sorts of blogs because they like the person behind the blog. I sometimes post food and photography items and no one has unfollowed because I’ve gone off topic for a few minutes.

    If you want a focused, professional book review site, then it’s probably best to keep the personal stuff separate though.

Leave a Reply

