Writing Wednesday – Motivation Check-In

Welcome back to Writing Wednesday! Today I’m following up on my last post about motivation.

In the book Around the Writer’s Block: Using Brain Science to Fight Writer’s Resistance, Roseanne Bane describes three habits we should be cultivating each week: Process, Self-Care, and Product Time. I gave myself goals for these habits, and promised to check back and post my progress.

I was derailed from the start with another nasty cold (my second of the spring), but this past week has been much more productive. 

I went on a writing date at a pub with one of my friends (See?! Photo evidence!!), and I managed to get my beat sheet/outline done. That’s my handwritten outline and my project open in Scrivener, where I managed to jam out 500+ words even after a Bloody Mary! 

The one part that has been difficult for me is the Process time. I haven’t really devoted any time to this creative energy, so that’s something I need to focus on for next time.

For any of my fellow writers out there, how has your process been going? Are you struggling to make time for your writing or other hobbies?

Process:

  • Check-in
    • My goal: 15 minutes per day, 3 days per week
    • Goal met? No. I didn’t do any process work.
  • Commitment (next two weeks)
    • 10 minutes per day, 3 days per week

Self-care:

  • Check-in
    • My goal: 30 minutes per day, 5 days per week
    • Goal met? Not quite. I did get 4 days this week, 3 of which were well over 30 minutes.
  • Commitment (next two weeks)
    • 60 minutes per day, 5 days per week

Product Time:

  • Check-in
    • My goal: 15 minutes per day, 3 days per week
    • Target tasks
      • Outline Hannah plot/beat sheet
      • Explore Sexy New Idea
      • Write Hannah catalyst scene
    • Goal met? Almost. 2 out of 3.
  • Commitment (next two weeks)
    • 15 minutes per day, 3 days per week
  • Target tasks
    • Set Hannah on quest

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Writing Wednesday – Motivation Check-In

  1. Argh, I didn’t do much in terms of writing since last time you posted. However, I *did* revise a short story. It was basically utilizing notes my writer friend suggested, but still. I also started another short story, but I’m not sure how to tell it so to speak (after the fact, following the action, etc.).

    • It sounds to me like you did a lot! Good for you. The nice thing about short stories is that if you try it one way (after the fact) and it’s not working, there’s not as much to revise! Or heck, just write it from both perspectives and see which is speaking to you more. I’ve got a draft short I need to clean up, too. I was thinking of trying to submit to some sci-fi mags.

      Keep writing Pam!

Leave a Reply

