Weekly Recap (4)

Every Friday I post a recap of books I’ve read, am reading, and plan to read, as well as any other tidbits I feel like sharing. The format was inspired by Small Review’s Recap posts and On a Book Bender and 25 Hour Books’ Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge posts.

Blogging

This week on the blog:

Reading

Finished: 

  • Spider’s Bite (Elemental Assassin #1) by Jennifer Estep
    • I was really enjoying this one until the ending dragged on forever. Plus the writing got irritatingly repetitive. Still a great read, though, and I’ll be continuing with the series. 
  • The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
    • I’m working myself into a fever pitch over the upcoming movie, y’all. I forgot how great this book is.

Acquiring

Borrowed:

  • Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy (Gallagher Girls #2) by Ally Carter
    • Fun and fluffy. Can’t wait to start.

Watching

  • 42 (The Jackie Robinson Story)
    • This was an incredible story to see on the big screen. I just wish the screenplay had been better.

Listening

  • The video of the National Anthem sung at the Boston Bruins game on Wednesday night gave me chills.

Exercising

  • Back full-force into the running. After almost 5 months off, this is not pretty. I also had a Groupon expiring at the Bikram studio, so I had to squeeze in a couple of classes.
    • Saturday – 2 miles
    • Sunday – 60 minutes on the helliptical
    • Monday – Bikram yoga
    • Tuesday – 4 miles
    • Wednesday – Bikram yoga
    • Thursday – 3 miles

What have you been up to this week?

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Weekly Recap (4)

  1. Yeah, so the repetitiveness in Spider’s Bite–it actually continues throughout the series. Kelly and I were just discussing this earlier this week. It’s like chunks of descriptions were copied and pasted into the story–they’re that similar.

    • Wow. Even in this book I felt like that. Like how many times she tells us the 5 places she keeps her knives, or the countdowns, or the emotions she can so easily read in Caine’s eyes (which were always in the same order too). We get it! Who edited this?!

  2. I haven’t read The Great Gatsby since high school, but I’m really excited to see the movie. I think Baz Luhrman’s (sp?) directing style will be perfect for the Jazz Age era in which it’s set. The trailers are certainly glitzy and glamorous.

    • I think the Baz treatment is perfect for this book, just like you said. I love his movies and style, and I hope this lives up to my expectations. I think the casting is pretty spot on too.

  3. I’m most curious about your workouts. What’s Bikram Yoga? I do Tony Horton’s 10min trainer workout and just started with a DVD called Yoga flex. I’m in good shape I just have always been so inflexible. Looking to improve flexibility but don’t want to be easily discouraged. Do you recommend it?

    • Bikram yoga is a specific form of hot yoga, consisting of the same postures in the same order in every 90 minute class, in a room heated to 105 degrees and 40% humidity. The heat really gets your heart pumping and helps you get deep stretches.

      I personally love it, but it’s not for everyone. I like the fact that every class is the same because it reminds me of my dancing days and helps me mark improvement. I like the way I feel after class – sweaty and accomplished and renewed. Over time it definitely improves flexibility, but that’s true of any kind of consistent stretching regimen.

      I love Tony Horton. I bought his Power 90 system back when it first came out, what? 10-12 years ago? Still have it too!

Leave a Reply

